h1

1st Day at the Office

January 3, 2008

Today I made it to the office. I got up at 7:15am, showered, dressed, had a breakfast including different kinds of vitamins and medication and headed for work. I live about 45 car minutes from the office but as driving a car is no longer allowed (due to the risk of a seizure while driving) did I have to revert to the famous (notorious) Dutch public transport. I left home at 8:30am, boarded the first train at 8:45am, missed my bus due to a delay of the second train so had to take a tram and finally arrived at the office at 10:15am after a 10 minute walk in the freezing cold. Not bad :-(

I informed the receptionists of my condition and what they should do if I have a seizure. I met with a lot of colleagues who all wanted to know how I was doing, exchanged stories and news and started a long series of meetings. It was good to be back in the office. I plan to be one day in the office per week as a minimum but first have to find a solution for the transportation problem.  

Leave a Reply

