h1

Pre-Operative Screening

February 28, 2008

Today I had to go to the hospital for my Pre-Operative screening. We had to first visit the Department of Neurosurgery to obtain an application form and to pick up my my medical status. We were given a long list of questions and were asked to fill these out. I have a long medical history so that took some time. 

Once all questions were answered were we asked to visit the Anesthesiologist. My weight and length were measured and he went over the answers I had given. I was born with a VSD (Ventricular Septal Defect) so an ECG had to be made. Also as I would like to donate blood to be used during my own surgery (predeposited autologus blood) was I asked to visit the laboratory of the hospital to have my blood checked.

Before we returned my medical status to the receptionist of the Department of Neurosurgery. The file was not completely up to date but offered some background information nevertheless. I now know e.g. that the seizure that I suffered from on the 22nd of October 2007 was a Tonic-Clonic Seizure (Grand Mal). Useful!

Leave a Reply

