h1

MT Meeting

March 19, 2008

You can’t imagine how much time it take to get to the office from home having to use the public transport (instead of my car): almost two hours. First I have to take a walk to the metro station, take the metro to the railway station, take a train to the to the station nearest to my destination, take a ‘high speed’ tram to the tram station closest to my office and then walk with a dysfunctional leg to the office (15 minutes). Fortunately I have two colleagues that live in Amsterdam, one at a distance of 2 km and one at the other side of the city who are willing to pick me up from time to time. 

Why am I telling you all this? Well since I’m not allowed to drive do I completely depend on others and/or public transport and it’s only then that you notice the problems with mobility. Today I had a Management Team Meeting and to avoid being late on this special today did my friend (and colleague) pick me up extra early. However due to a major traffic jam blocking her off ramp were we still late. I felt sooo bad about that as she has to drive the extra distance to pick me up from the station only to get stuck (she lives on the other side of town). She was so kind no to make a point of it. Thanks Danielle!

My presentation was scheduled for 11:00 am and I was in time for that. What I was not prepared for was how I had to stutter through the (English) presentation. Looking for words like a complete idiot. And last but not least one of my colleagues gave me a lecture on the value of HIS  time and was not willing to follow the process suggested by me. I became very angry with him. I’m really not performing anymore at work, I can’t speak, can’t walk and can’t control my emotions. What a disappointment and what crap day!

Leave a Reply

