h1

D-day Surgery: 24 April 2008

March 26, 2008

CraniotomyIt is my father’s birthday today so when the hospital called with a date for my craniotomy I took that as a sign of good fortune. Surgery is planned for the 24th of April 2008! It is not really as fast as I had hoped for (I expected a date in the next two weeks) but this will have to do. There is no time for alternative plans anyway.

My wife watched an episode of a TV programme about brain surgery (recommended by the “Super Nurse”) and when my wife dared to watch it I did too. It was actually not as confronting as I thought and very informative. The case of the main character (a young woman) is so similar to mine. You can find it here, unfortunately it is completely in Dutch.

One comment

  1. […] have seen the short film introducing the Awake Craniotomy of a young woman (please refer to my post “D-Day Surgery 24 April 2008″. I asked if I could have a similar presentation by the Neurosurgeons. He seemed delighted to do so. […]



Leave a Reply

